A Novel of Edgar Degas and Mary Cassatt

Read the book review of my latest favorite novel by Robin Oliveira.

Newest novel by Tracy Groot

Featured in February's Historical Novel Society magazine as an Editors' Choice.

Welcome to the new look!

I changed the look of my blog!

Favorite reads of 2013

These were the best of the best for 2013 - use this short list to help you with your next library trip!

Meme Posts

Add to your ginormous TBR pile!

Jul 15, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday - 'Girl Mary' by Petru Popescu



Sponsored by "Breaking the Spine". This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


Girl Mary

Girl Mary: A Novel by Petru Popescu

Pub. Date: September 08, 2009

Simon and Schuster
ISBN-13: 9781416532637
368pp

"The epic story of the Virgin Mary--not the icon, but the real teenage girl who seduced everyone, even God, with her soulful simplicity. Brings to life Mary of Nazareth as a beautiful, complicated girl in love, seen through the eyes of famous characters."

Jul 14, 2009

Teaser Tuesday - Sarah Dunant's Sacred Hearts, released today!

TEASER TUESDAYS is hosted by ShouldBeReading and asks you to:
♠Grab your current read.
♠Let the book fall open to a random page.
♠Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page.
♠You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
Please avoid spoilers!


In honor of today's release of the new novel by Sarah Dunant, I direct you to my review below this post. I definitely recommend the read!

Sacred Hearts: A Novel

"Before the screaming starts, the night silence of the convent is already alive with its own particular sounds."

"So that in the end the only real choice open to a young woman was to yell herself into crazed silence or, with God's grace, find the wit to turn rebellion into acceptance of what cannot be resisted. Just as so many others had done before her."

Sacred Hearts: A Novel by Sarah Dunant is available today at all major bookstores.

Read the first chapter at Book Glutton.

Jul 13, 2009

Book Review: "Sacred Hearts" by Sarah Dunant

Sacred Hearts review by The Burton Review

Hardcover: 432 pages
Publisher: Random House (July 14, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1400063825
The Burton Review Rating: 4.5 stars

The 'Sacred Hearts' Book Trailer:







"Santa Catarina, a convent near Venice, is home to over one hundred women in 1567. But with powerful forces for change raging outside the convent, and with the world of the women within threatened by a new arrival, passions, hysteria, and conflict will come to threaten their very survival."

Honestly, in the back of my mind as I was enjoying the words of this book that I was reading, I had the seed of doubt already planted that I would be able to have the fortitude to write a review that could do this novel justice. Given the truth that on the outside, the setting may seem a bit bland to some - a nunnery back in the old days- 'how exciting can that be?'- I was intrigued, enthralled, engrossed with everything that went on within those convent walls.

And there is not a wide cast of characters here. We have the abbess of the convent Madonna Chiara, the dispensary nun Zuana, and the novice nun Serafina, along with the additional cloister of nuns who add depth and flavor to the story. This is a story that is multi-faceted from the struggles of the faith of the women, from lessons on herbs and medicine, young love, stigmatas and on to the descriptions of what lengths the convent goes to in order to promote a woman's worthiness for God. What happened in mid-1500's to the unwed women in Italy is that they went to a nunnery. The dowries were so high that if there was more than one daughter in the house, they could barely afford for one daughter to wed. That is where the novel opens up as we meet the newest unwilling member of the convent, Serafina, who is thrust into this unknown world by her family who have cruelly abondoned her. Sister Zuana is chosen to be a guide for Serafina, though with all the strict confines and rules of a nunnery it is difficult for them to gauge each other's character or even ask questions of each other. Throughout the story we are touched by these two women as they each struggle with their own questions of faith, of their needs, of friendship, and how they prepare themselves for God.
"So that in the end the only real choice open to a young woman was to yell herself into crazed silence or, with God's grace, find the wit to turn rebellion into acceptance of what cannot be resisted. Just as so many others had done before her."

Serafina, a young woman, was in no way prepared to be forced into the society of saintly and religious routines, and how and if she accepts this fate is what the novel's events center on. Zuana is reminiscent of how she once was in Serafina's shoes as a novice nun unprepared for the abrupt change in the way to live within this restrictive society sixteen years before Serafina's own arrival. Although Zuana does not show outward compassion towards Serafina, she tries subtly to make her understand that 'resistance is.. fruitless', and Zuana is fully drawn to this young woman. We experience Zuana's whimsical thoughts of what life would be for her if she had not entered the convent decades earlier, as Zuana was also not bred merely for convent life to serve God, she had a natural calling to serve others with her expertise of herbal remedies.

Each of these women possess a talent that uniquely separates them from the rest. Zuana is the dispensary clerk and through her rare upbringing she has the knowledge that rivals that of a doctor, and is invaluable with her medicinal herbs for the convent. And Novice Serafina is young, beautiful, rebelliously in love, and is a song bird that outshines any other. The realization that their lives are meant for God is something that both the women think about and we are let into their minds to witness their profound journeys. Within these walls of which they are trapped they are required to conform to the strict rules of the convent. Even sheltered from society they are not immune to the religious reformation taking place and how their church believes that they should be doing more honoring of God then is already being done; things have the potential to get even stricter than they are accustomed to and simple luxuries that are already few and far between may be taken away right down to the Choir.

Sacred Hearts was well-written with its flair of nostalgia and historical importance as I found the writing to be fast paced within a slow moving yet suspenseful spiritual journey; the pleasing prose had me from the onset. I valued the small psalms, prayers, quotes that were interspersed into the story and also appreciated the fact that this was treated as a novel and not as an effort to preach to whether God exists and how we should feel about that. The rare criticism of the writing is that there were a few times when the story was being told through one nun's eyes and then we stopped the timeline and went back to the other nun and their point of view of the same event which was really unneccessary and disrupted the flow, but thankfully occurred only a few times. It was difficult to get used to the idea of the women being in cells, in essentially a prison, regardless of what they had wanted out of their life. It brings to mind the thought of how many women truly perished within a nunnery, whose life meant nothing to no one but themselves and God, all because they did not have the money to marry. There is an intriguing plot that wraps you up in the suspense of how Serafina reacts to her fate, as she believes that her only way to survive is to escape. And when she attempts that, her reversal of fortune is life threatening and shocking.

And as expected, I can not do this novel justice within my review for fear of giving away the whole thing.. but this is a must read, I loved it, and felt very introspective while reading it. I am blessed to be born in these modern days so that I can have the freedom make my own life altering choices.

Mailbox Monday~ A Royal Mailbox, My Best Mix!

Welcome to The Burton Review Mailbox Monday Mailbox Monday is hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page. We share what books that we found in our mailboxes last week. And I am adding what I purchased. Here's what I received during the last week:


I had a most wonderful week, that actually began last Monday. I got an awesome birthday card with some beautiful bookmarks from Arleigh at Historical-Fiction.com, Thank you so much Arleigh! Your friendship is special to me :)


From Paperbackswap I received:


CJ Sansom 2nd in Shardlake SeriesDark Fire by C. J. Sansom (Pub. 2005, 2nd in the Shardlake Series that is set in Tudor Times)


"It is 1540, and Matthew Shardlake, the lawyer renowned as "the sharpest hunchback in the courts of England," is pressed to help a friend’s young niece who is charged with murder. Despite threats of torture and death by the rack, the girl is inexplicably silent. Shardlake is about to lose her case when he is suddenly granted a reprieve—one that will ensnare him in the dangerous schemes of Thomas Cromwell, Henry VIII’s feared vicar-general.
In exchange for two more weeks to investigate the murder, Shardlake accepts Cromwell’s dangerous assignment to find a lost cache of "dark fire," a legendary weapon of mass destruction. Cromwell, out of favor since Henry’s disastrous marriage to Anne of Cleves, is relying on Shardlake to save his position at court, which is rife with treasonous conspiracies."



Frenchman's CreekFrenchman's Creek by Daphne du Maurier (reprint 2009) "The electrifying tale of love and indecency on the high seas.
Daphne du Maurier's Frenchman's Creek is the scandalous tale of one woman's will to seize adventure by the horns and become the fugitive of her own fate. Jaded by frivolous Restoration London and the numbing civility of its hollow members, Lady Dona St. Columb revolts against polite society. She rides into the countryside, guided only by her restlessness and the indomitable longing for escape.
But when chance leads her to meet a French pirate hidden within Cornwall's shadowy forests, Dona discovers that her passions and thirst for adventure have never been more aroused. Together, they embark upon a quest rife with death and glory, and one which bestows upon Dona the ultimate choice: sacrifice her lover to certain destruction or gamble away her own to save him."


Mists of Avalon

The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley (Pub. 1982) 912 pages!! "Here is the magical legend of King Arthur, vividly retold through the eyes and lives of the women who wielded power from behind the throne. A spellbinding novel, an extraordinary literary achievement."


"Watching the Tree Limbs" by Mary E. Demuth The author is visiting my library in August & I am hoping to bring you a video of her lecture.

"In this debut faith-based novel, DeMuth transports readers to the hot East Texas town that is nine-year-old Mara's home. Amid the red dirt and pecan trees, Mara struggles to find her way through a painful and mysterious family situation. Who were her parents? Is her aunt Elma really her aunt-and does Elma really have a tumor? What will happen to her if her aunt dies? The pain in Mara's life multiplies when she meets General, the teenage neighbor who repeatedly rapes her, threatening her life if she tells anyone. DeMuth captures the horrific situation-from Mara's inability to keep her body from shaking to her determination to watch the tree limbs to keep her mind off of what is going on-while providing hope of redemption and healing. Her characters are expertly drawn, and encompass meanness, evil, great kindness and the confusion of generally good people who don't know how to handle what life has given them. Christian themes are woven throughout as a natural expression of the characters and situation. Readers may be surprised at the dark subject matter, but this book will appeal to many readers both as a thoughtful, powerful reflection on a difficult topic and as a compelling story."

I ordered and received from Abebooks for my Jean Plaidy Bookcase (click for pic):
Madame Du Barry
The Pleasures of Love: The Story of Catherine of Braganza
Queen Jezebel
Sweet Lass of Richmond Hill (Georgian Saga 7)
Battle of the Queens (Plantagenet saga)
The Bastard King (The Norman Series; Volume 1)


And for the EXTRA WONDERFUL NEWS.. I recieved two special books that are going to be a treat to my readers as well.. as I review the next two books I will also be giving away a copy of each of the following:


Win The White Queen from The Burton Review!"The White Queen": A Novel By Philippa Gregory
The winner will receive an unread copy of the ARC (shown) of The White Queen, and it will be a quick giveaway in August, so stay tuned or you may miss it!
"The first in a stunning new series, The Cousins War, is set amid the tumult and intrigue of The War of the Roses. Internationally bestselling author Philippa Gregory brings this family drama to colourful life through its women, beginning with the story of Elizabeth Woodville, the White QueenThe White Queen tells the story of a common woman who ascends to royalty by virtue of her beauty, a woman who rises to the demands of her position and fights tenaciously for the success of her family, a woman whose two sons become the central figures in a mystery that has confounded historians for centuries: the Princes in the Tower whose fate remains unknown to this day. From her uniquely qualified perspective, Philippa Gregory explores the most famous unsolved mystery, informed by impeccable research and framed by her inimitable storytelling skills."



Win Twilight of a Queen from The Burton ReviewTwilight of a Queen by Susan Carroll On Sale: July 21, 2009
This giveaway will be coming up.. I just started reading this & I will begin the giveaway with my review when it posts, so stay tuned in the next few weeks for this one!
Fifth in The Dark Queen Series aka Cheney Sisters of Faire Isle Series:
"As war and treachery loom, an ambitious man’s mission threatens to topple two dazzling realms and their formidable rulers: Catherine de Medici, the Dark Queen, and Ariane, the Lady of Faire Isle.It is 1588, and as the Spanish Armada prepares to besiege England, Paris balances on the brink of revolution. To maintain her grip on the throne and on the dark magic that has become her obsession, Catherine de Medici turns to Louis Xavier, a ruthless corsair who was schooled in the dark arts and has mastered piracy along the Spanish main. But Louis’s basest instincts are held in check by the kindness of Lady Jane Danvers, a British exile whose innate sense of honor is but one facet of her complex and passionate nature.On Faire Isle, Ariane Cheney, unaware of the escalating threat from the Dark Queen, struggles with the task of protecting the daughters of the earth and their vast store of ancient magical wisdom. Weak and desperate for an advantage, the ailing Catherine makes a devil’s bargain that will cast a shadow over all."

Was this an awesome Mailbox Week or what?!

Jul 11, 2009

The Sunday Salon ~ Socially Online

The Sunday Salon.com


"What is the Sunday Salon? Imagine some university library's vast reading room. It's filled with people--students and faculty and strangers who've wandered in. They're seated at great oaken desks, books piled all around them, and they're all feverishly reading and jotting notes in their leather-bound journals as they go. Later they'll mill around the open dictionaries and compare their thoughts on the afternoon's literary intake...."

I wanted to firstly Thank each and EVERY ONE of YOU SPeciaL Friends who commented on my Pity Birthday Party Sunday Post last week. Marie and Ollie, July 11 WebCam FunI've appreciated the comments, and I am so glad that you took the time to write a special something back to me, I needed the pick me up, as Debnance said.. and having you guys out there in CyberWorld when I needed a boost was awesome for me. Thank you so much! I even took some new webcam pics and with a little softening and unsharpening they won't be so bad. Thanks for all of your Happy Birthday wishes!



This week I have been thoroughly entertained by Sarah Dunant's latest book, Sacred Hearts. If I was given half the chance I would have read within a few days but such is not the case when one works and also has little ones wreaking havoc. But I will be wrapping it up today so that I can get a review in time for its release July 14th. I posted the review on Fitten's "Valeria's Last Stand" on Monday, which was a quirky and fun read.

There is one more week left to the "Partners" by Dave McGowan giveaway that I am hosting.
And that's pretty much it in my book world.. except for the excellent Mailbox Monday that I get to post tomorrow. My little girl went fishing for the first time and I am waiting for her to come home so I can hear all about it. If they used Chum, then I don't think she'll ever look at Spongebob's rival restaurant "Chum Bucket" the same again.

For my Blogging Buddy, Sheri: I did want to call attention to a fellow blogger's new feed address. Everyone has been busy with summer and getting burnt out on the Book Blogging in general so a lot of people have failed to notice that A Novel Menagerie's website address and feed address has changed. Please update your google readers and subscriptions and Blogrolls for Sheri at A Novel Menagerie to http://www.anovelmenagerie.com/feed/ otherwise you are not getting all her new updates anymore. And she promises an Awesome Blogiversary Spectacular coming up so you really need to make sure you have her right web address!! And of course she always runs different giveaways and has fun entertainment posts to read as well. If anyone is reading this and is feeling kind, please copy and paste this paragraph onto one of your own blog posts to help Sheri out! She is bummed she lost all her readers and she can't reach out to each and every one of you!

And on to the Gossip of the week that I found.. which I also posted on Facebook.. Are you on facebook? {Friend me}
Novelist Hoffman apologizes for blasting a book reviewer on Twitter csmonitor.com
Source: features.csmonitor.com
Novelist Alice Hoffman, pictured here, found herself in hot water today after she printed the phone number of a critic who had disliked Hoffman's latest book.

Writers behaving badly, chapters three and four csmonitor.com
Source: features.csmonitor.com
Ayelet Waldman, pictured in this file photo, recently lashed out at a critic on Twitter. She's the third author this month to take to the Web to get some retribution for a bad review.

Features Authors Behaving Badly. The first one shows the author Alice Hoffman blasting a critic in a most immature way, and then deleted her stupid comments regarding the validity of reviewers, issues an almost apology but not really.. but the thing is that she had posted the female critic's email address and PHONE NUMBER!!!! Gimme a break and get a grip, lady. She made the New York Post, so she got publicity. I will never read or PROMOTE an Alice Hoffman Book.

And saw this article also today: "Mom bloggers become powerful online force".. Yup, the Social Media thing is evolving into something CRAZY I tell ya.

Are you on Twitter? Follow me at BurtonReview

And just for the heck of it:
http://bookblogs.ning.com/profile/Marie72
http://www.goodreads.com/marieburton2004
http://www.librarything.com/catalog/marieburton2004


And that's all I've got for ya~ My brain has been fried by The Wonder Pets, Barney and Spongebob. Sigh.


Calgon... take me away....

oh that's right.. my dear son has poured out all my bubble bath..

Jul 10, 2009

Friday Fill-In- Guess the Queen

Friday Fill-In's is Hosted by Janet

And...here we go!

1. The last thing I ate was venison and nuts.
2. Skeins of embroidery thread for a new tapestry is something I recently bought.
3. When it rains, it streams through my prison windows at Bolton Castle.
4. Besides my faithful maids, that horrid Lord Scrope was the first person I talked to today.
5. Hugs are few and far between for me, I am a Queen and I should be treated as being closest to God.
6. My little Skye Terrier brings me extra comfort.
7. And as for the weekend, tonight I'm looking forward to attempting to escape, tomorrow my plans include racing for the river on horseback and Sunday, I want to be on a boat heading back to Scotland!


{But her escape was fruitless, and instead she was on her way to her next prisons at Tutbury and Sheffield Castles}

Who am I?

Jul 9, 2009

Booking Through Thursday - To Be Read Hopefully This Year, But I Know I'm Dreaming

Booking Through Thursday is hosted by Deb; Deb says:

An idea I got from The Toddled Dredge (via K for Kat). Here’s what she said:
“So here today I present to you an Unread Books Challenge. Give me the list or take a picture of all the books you have stacked on your bedside table, hidden under the bed or standing in your shelf – the books you have not read, but keep meaning to. The books that begin to weigh on your mind. The books that make you cover your ears in conversation and say, ‘No! Don’t give me another book to read! I can’t finish the ones I have!’ “

I have .. oh I don't know.. 200 books to read... and the list grows and grows and grows. These are the books that I chose to share, that are on my shelf, waiting to be read. The selections show a variety of topics that I am interested in. You can see my Goodreads shelf which also shows ones that I would like to read but does not necessarily mean I own them here.

I own these & have not read them yet:
Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette (Hardcover) by Naslund, Sena Jeter

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming (Paperback) by Jackson, Joshilyn

Beach Trip: A Novel (Hardcover) by Holton, Cathy

The Turnaround (Hardcover) by Pelecanos, George P.

The King's Rose (Hardcover) by Libby, Alisa M.

Revolution on Canvas, Volume 1: Poetry from the Indie Music Scene (Paperback) by Balling, Rich

The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson (Paperback) by Dickinson, Emily

The 100 Best Poems of All Time (Paperback) by Pockell, Leslie

Surviving High Society - Lots of Love Trumps Lots of Money (Paperback) by Mulholland, Elizabeth Marvin

Pride and Prejudice (Mass Market Paperback) by Austen, Jane

The Queen of Subtleties: A Novel of Anne Boleyn (Paperback) by Dunn, Suzannah

Through a Glass Darkly (Paperback) by Koen, Karleen

The Kite Runner (Paperback) by Hosseini, Khaled

Love and Louis XIV: The Women in the Life of the Sun King (Hardcover) by Fraser, Antonia

The Truth Will Out: Unmasking the Real Shakespeare (Hardcover) by James, Brenda

Who Do You Think You Are? by Myers, Alyse

The Lady Penelope: The Lost Tale of Love and Politics in the Court of Elizabeth I (Hardcover) by Varlow, Sally

The Red Rose and the White: The Wars of the Roses, 1453-1487 (Hardcover) by Sadler, John

Anne Boleyn (Hardcover) by Lofts, Norah

Georgiana: Duchess of Devonshire (Modern Library Paperbacks) Foreman, Amanda

1603: The Death of Queen Elizabeth I, the Return of the Black Plague, the Rise of Shakespeare, Piracy, Witchcraft, and the Birth of the Stuart Era byLee, Christopher

Dark Prince (Carpathians, #1) by Feehan, Christine

In the Shadow of the Sun King (Darkness to Light, #1) by Parsons, Golden Keyes

Daughters of England (G K Hall Large Print Book Series) by Carr, Philippa

Uppity Women of Medieval Times (Paperback) by Leon, Vicki

The Glister: A Novel (Hardcover) by Burnside, John

Etta: A Novel (Hardcover) by Kolpan, Gerald

BoneMan's Daughters (Hardcover) by Dekker, Ted

Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe (Paperback) by Gulland, Sandra (& the rest of the Josephine series)

Mistress of the Sun: A Novel (Hardcover) by Gulland, Sandra

Pope Joan: A Novel (Paperback) by Cross, Donna Woolfolk

A Rose for Virtue: The Very Private Life of Hortense, Stepdaughter of Napoleon I, Mother of Napoleon III (Hardcover) by Lofts, Norah

My Lady of Cleves: A Novel of Henry VIII and Anne of Cleves (Paperback) by Barnes, Margaret Campbell
And of course there is always my slowly growing Jean Plaidy bookshelf as shown:


I have probably only read about 6 or 7 of these shown. So, what books do you own that you have been really wanting to read for awhile now?

Jul 6, 2009

Book Review: "Valeria's Last Stand" by Marc Fitten

Valeria's Last Stand: A Novel (Hardcover)by Marc Fitten
Hardcover: 272 pages
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA (April 28, 2009)
ISBN-10: 1596916206
ISBN-13: 978-1596916203
The Burton Review Rating: 4 Stars

Product Description:
"A comic romp celebrating late-flowering love in a Hungarian village that will appeal to readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian.
Valeria is a whale in a puddle. She harrumphs her daily way through her backwater Hungarian village, finding equal fault with the new, the old, the foreign, and the familiar. Her decades of universal contempt have turned her into a touchstone of her little community—whatever she scorns the least must be the best, after all. But, on a day like any other, her spinster’s heart is struck by an unlikely arrow: The village potter, long known and little noticed, captures her fancy, and Valeria finds herself suddenly cast in a role she never expected to play. This one deviation from character, this one loose thread, is all it takes for the delicately woven fabric of village life to unravel. And, for the first time in a long time, Valeria couldn't care less. With humor and sensitivity, author Marc Fitten delivers an unexpected and entirely inspiring first novel that will leave you begging for more."


Set in a small village in Hungary, this is the story of the locals; their socializing and their meager way of life. And it is not a story that is only central to Valeria, it is about these villagers of Zivatar which is a tiny town that time and technology has left alone, save for the mayor's meager efforts. The characters we meet are interesting to read about, though not many are instantly likable. There are some female characters with names while the men simply go by their profession: the potter, the apprentice, the chimney sweep, the mayor. Surprisingly, it works.

The story opens up to Valeria, a woman approaching seventy years of age and is set in her ways, having no qualms to tell you what's what. She has no friends, she does not have a purpose in life except to harass others when she sees fit. The villagers enjoy poking fun at her and ridiculing her. Oddly enough, she sees the local potter in the market and is completely mesmerized by him. At this point she seems human enough and we get to empathise with her; otherwise she really was easy to hate. We are then introduced to another strong willed woman, Ibolya, the local tavern owner. Of course these two women hate each other, especially now that they learn they both have eyes for the potter. What transpires now is an engrossing and a spicy story that wraps its arms around you and doesn't let go. We witness the growth of the characters with delight and chagrin.
The third party narrative works splendidly in this book as it gives us unique point of views from each of the main characters to help add to the nuance of the village as the story develops. As opposed to a family saga, this is more of a saga of the villagers and the two women that help define it as the village reaches it critical turning point of survival of the fittest. How the villagers react to one another, and to the events that transpire, was absorbing to read. The women fight over the potter, other relationships are ruined and made, the chimney sweeper becomes a murderer - it all becomes wrapped in a strangely engaging little story about senior citizens struggling to keep up with the world around them.
There is also a back story of capitalism and power that the author broaches with the mayor who is trying to bring technology and renewal to his citizens, who have mostly been stuck in their black hole of a village while the rest of world left it behind. The novel built up a lot of momentum with its provocative storyline and made my stomach churn as I was getting towards the climatic ending. The author did compose a fine debut novel, although a bit more on the crude side with some of the language, and I would have enjoyed it with a bit less sex, but I am intrigued as to the fact that he plans this novel to be the first of The Paprika Trilogy. I am definitely going to read the next one to see if it is as compelling as this one was, as this was a perfect weekend read for me. This is one of those types of books that you either love it or hate it, depending on your mood. I enjoyed it for being a quick read, the unique storytelling and the unforgettable characters.

Mailbox Monday - A Bit of Everything

Mailbox Monday is hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page. We share what books that we found in our mailboxes last week. And I am adding what I purchased. Here's what I received during the last week:

Not a huge book week over here, which is fine since I have a lot of reading to do already.

From Paperbackswap I ordered:

"Gloriana's Torch" by Patricia Finney
"1587 and the Spanish are preparing to launch the Armada, their Holy Enterprise of England, to rescue the English from heresy and Elizabeth, their Witch-Queen. Ex-soldier David Becket, now responsible for the Queen's Ordnance but struggling to deal with his tortured past in the Tower of London and on the battlefields of Europe, discovers that large quantities of gunpowder are going astray. Can someone in the heart of the English government be selling it to the Spanish? Unaccountably he is plagued by vivid dreams of England invaded, an alternative story where the Armada is victorious. Simon Ames, Becket's old friend, has been captured by the Inquisition in Lisbon as he attempts to elicit vital information for the Queen. His wife, Rebecca; a black slave, Merula, and Becket are permitted to rescue him on one condition. They must also infiltrate the Spanish fleet and unravel the riddle of the Miracle of Beauty. But Simon has been sentenced to work as a galley slave on the Armada and, chained to an oarbench, is now bound for England. Patricia Finney's brilliant reworking of the Armada legend is an imaginative tour de force and illustrates how different England's history could have been had the Spanish landed. Thrilling, intricate and inspiring, this is a tale of gods, of courage, of love, and, ultimately, of redemption."

I am still recovering from my burnt-out on Elizabeth I phase but I hope to get back into the groove soon as I do truly love her.


Received for Review:
"The Hidden Man" by David Ellis "THE HIDDEN MAN introduces attorney Jason Kolarich, a Midwestern everyman with a lineman's build and an easy smart-ass remark. He's young, intelligent, and driven, but he's also saddled with an overwhelming emotional burden - one that threatens to unravel his own life, and possibly the lives of those around him.

Twenty-seven years ago, two-year-old Audrey Cutler disappeared from her home in the middle of the night. Her body was never found. All the detectives had to go on were vague eyewitness accounts of a man running down the Cutler's street, apparently carrying someone.
Without enough evidence to suggest otherwise, Griffin Perlini - a neighbor with prior offenses against minors - was arrested, but never convicted.
The case is long closed when Perlini is murdered in his apartment nearly thirty years later. Now a man named Mr. Smith appears in Jason Kolarich's office offering him a suspicious amount of money to defend the lead suspect in Perlini's murder, saying only that he represents an interested third party and that Kolarich is perfect for the case. Sure enough, the man on trial is Audrey Cutler's older brother Sammy, Kolarich's childhood best friend, a man he hasn't seen since a falling out almost twenty years prior. And just when it seems like the case can't get any more complex, the mysterious third party starts applying pressure to Kolarich. With his own life and Sammy's in the balance, Kolarich has to not only put aside the mounting anxiety of the case but also a heart wrenching personal tragedy in order to find out what really happened to Audrey all those years ago."
I really enjoy Lee Child so I am hoping this has the same flair.



"The Invention of Everything Else" by Samantha Hunt "From the moment Louisa first catches sight of the strange man who occupies a forbidden room on the thirty-third floor, she is determined to befriend him.Unbeknownst to Louisa, he is Nikola Teslainventor of AC electricity and wireless communicationand he is living out his last days at the Hotel New Yorker.Winning his attention through a shared love of pigeons, she eventually uncovers the story of Teslas life as a Serbian immigrant and a visionary genius: as a boy he built engines powered by June bugs, as a man he dreamed of pulling electricity from the sky.The mystery deepens when Louisa reunites with an enigmatic former classmate and faces the loss of her father as he attempts to travel to the past to meet up with his beloved late wife. Before the week is out, Louisa must come to terms with her own understanding of love, death, and the power of invention."

From a win at Dan's Journal, (Thank you!) I received:

"The Night Gardener" by George Pelecanos "Gus Ramone is "good police," a former Internal Affairs investigator now working homicide for the city's Violent Crime branch. His new case involves the death of a local teenager named Asa, whose body has been found in a local community garden.
The murder unearths intense memories of a case Ramone worked as a patrol cop twenty years earlier, when he and his partner, Dan "Doc" Holiday, assisted a legendary detective named T. C. Cook. The series of murders, all involving local teenage victims, was never solved. In the years since, Holiday has left the force under a cloud of morals charges, and now finds work as a bodyguard and driver. Cook has retired, but he has never stopped agonizing about the "Night Gardener" killings.
The new case draws the three men together on a grim mission to finish the work that has haunted them for years. All the love, regret, and anger that once burned between them comes rushing back, and old ghosts walk once more as the men try to lay to rest the monster who has stalked their dreams. Bigger and even more unstoppable than his previous thrillers, George Pelecanos achieves in The Night Gardener what his brilliant career has been building toward: a novel that is a perfect union of suspense, character, and unstoppable fate."
What was in your mailbox?

Jul 5, 2009

The Sunday Salon - The Struggle of 36

The Sunday Salon.com



"What is the Sunday Salon? Imagine some university library's vast reading room. It's filled with people--students and faculty and strangers who've wandered in. They're seated at great oaken desks, books piled all around them, and they're all feverishly reading and jotting notes in their leather-bound journals as they go. Later they'll mill around the open dictionaries and compare their thoughts on the afternoon's literary intake...."




I hope my fellow Americans had a pleasant Independence Day. The only family we have close by is my mother, but she worked the closing shift so we managed to occupy ourselves with a zillion kids DVD's. We can't go in our backyard because we have new grass growing so we were pretty much sheltered till we went out to watch the fireworks show.

This past week I finished reading and reviewed Anne Frank Remembered: The Story of the Woman who Helped Hide The Franks by Miep Gies. I loved that book very much, it was quite poignant and thought provoking for me. I strongly recommend it. You can find it on the Amazon UK site for now, and they just got it on the Simon & Schuster UK site. I cannot wait to read more WWII accounts, from the personal memories to the more military history ones. I am very intrigued by the history of it.

Also courtesy of Simon And Schuster UK, I read and reviewed Crowner Royal by Bernard Knight, which is the thirteenth in a Crowner John Medieval Mystery series for this author. He received high reviews on Amazon for this one, and my own review is posted here.

I just started Valeria's Last Stand by Marc Fitten which I received as an ARC a while ago and just couldn't get around to it. Better late than never, and it is definitely different. A bit crude but the story is interesting that it has a lot of potential to be a page-turner as soon as I have a moment's peace.

Mo at Unmainstream Mom Reads posted the other day that she lost her reading mojo. She's in a slump. She only read 20 books as opposed to her norm of average 33 and she is upset by the decrease. I commented that it's okay to give it your best shot, and what results from that is what was meant to be.

But of course it got me thinking, because I feel a bit of the same way. I do enjoy reading, and now that I have been blogging about reading (*& reading other blogs) I definitely am not using my time wisely. I follow along on twitter when you wouldn't even know I'm there, and I also do the Facebook thing, for which I just figured out how to sync my tweets to post to my Facebook status so I can annoy more people elsewhere. I have the Google Reader on which I think I stay up to speed on. but today I just deleted over 1,000 posts. When did I sign up for all these subscriptions?! So now I'm starting fresh again.

For the Bloggiesta a few weeks ago I spent like 15 hours doing minor updates to my blog that were barely noticeable. Why did I spend so much time doing that?? I thought there would be book awards, but I only saw one winner out of all the mini challenges. I definitely would not have spent so much time on it if there was only one winner out of all the participants. But .. then again, maybe I would have. I am addicted to this laptop, and learning new tweaks is always invigorating.

Some people read 20 books a month and easily write a thorough review on it immediately. And although anything more than 5 books a month for me is awesome, I also hate it when I feel like a book is holding me back.. particularly when I am reading specifically to review it and I'd rather just throw it against the wall. Marireads just mentions this quandry which everyone has been in the situation before. As for myself, I work Full-time, I have a 7 year old and a 2 year old, a house that they are destroying.. and reading was my one little enjoyment that was mine all mine!! Now that I have shared that passion with the entire Book Blogging Community and the publishers or authors for whom I agree to review a book, I feel a bit like it's a struggle. It is summertime, the kids are out of school, I should be enjoying life with them but I am obsessed with checking out what everyone else is blogging about and what new book is out there that I must add to my shelf.. And I am still swamped with my own pile of books that I have yet to review. Before I started this reviewing thing it seemed like I was reading about 10 books a month. I guess that was because I didn't have to stop in between books and compose a thoughtful and concise review on it. And then of course the main thing is that I obviously had hand-picked the books out and they were not offered to me by anyone else. These were books that were specifically and only in the 'I really want to read this' genre, and therefore seemed to be devoured quickly.

I posted my Friday Fill In and NO Fill-In Meme participants (of which there were at least 71 that day) came by to check it out. So why do I bother? I guess because this blog is still Mine All Mine and if I enjoyed creating that post then it should have been worthwhile to me.. which I thought it was pretty special. And so did Ms. Lucy who must be my biggest fan, I love her to pieces for her support.




Am I feeling a little extra crappy because OH MY GOD I am freaking 36 today?!! Yes, probably so. Where did the fun skinny blond haired (other days red or brown, depending on my mood) girl go? Reincarnated into my light-brown haired daughter, who has 110% of my attitude and who unabashedly flings it back at me 100 times a day. I once was the girl that could not gain a pound if I ate McDonald's and pizza all day long, and then boom! I hit 30 and I think of McDonald's and I immediately gain a pound, and yet I still eat there an insane amount. INSANE. My face has teeny wrinkles, my freckles aren't cute, my once non-existent boobs have turned into droopy ex-milk producers, and even my toes don't look as pretty in those cute strappy sandals. But it's my birthday, I have the day off, so I should be happy and excited, right?

{And I will be once my husband shows me what he bought for me!! teehee}

:)
And here is a picture of some of my Birthday Presents!

Jul 3, 2009

Book Review: "Crowner Royal" by Bernard Knight

Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK
Pub. Date: June 2009
ISBN-13: 9781847372970
368pp
Series: Crowner John Mysteries
The Burton Review Rating: 3 stars

The blurb: "It is April 1196. At the command of King Richard and his Chief Justiciar Hubert Walter, county coroner Sir John de Wolfe—along with his officer Gwyn of Polruan and clerk Thomas de Peyne—has left Exeter for London where he is to become the first Coroner of the Verge. Thrust into the intrigues of the closed world of the Royal Court, John quickly finds himself embroiled in a case of theft, blackmail, espionage, and murder."


This is the thirteenth novel in the Crowner John series, where a medieval detective gets the nasty job of determining the various whodunit's that all seem to happen at the same time. This one has a little bit of everything in it, from the main character brooding about women troubles to him avidly supporting his absent King. There are bodies floating in rivers, lying face down in marshes, missing suspects, and the very important English treasure trove has been looted as well.


Before one mystery even gets close to solving another one occurs.. I was getting a little aggravated at the lack of expertise on the "coroner's" part. Crowner John was just recently awarded the post of "Coroner on the Verge" where he is in charge of all investigations that occur within the 12 mile radius of the Royal Palace of Westminster. Even that comes into question, where John needs to fight for his right to investigate the second murder. There was a lot of eating, in the Hall or in his rooms with the fare always being described in detail. The author takes a lot of time to create the atmosphere with his back story of the palace and the politics of the times.

I was not overly fond of the characterization of John: he was gruff, moody, facetious. His two sidekicks were not quite as rough as John but added a bit of human to the story. They clearly wanted to be back in their homes in Exeter and not in London. I enjoyed the mini history lessons and facts that were inserted throughout the mystery story line, but I did find the solving the actual mysteries a bit long winded due to the repeated discussion of the times. The medieval era is certainly something the author has a lot of knowledge of, I would have preferred a bit more drama for the present as well as the history. Once we got to the last quarter of the book, things started occurring and advancement in unraveling the conspiracies was being made, which were quite comical in some parts.

When we are not learning about the dark and musty residences, we are treated to John's apparent acute sex appeal, as the wife of a noble immediately sets him in her sights and blatantly makes passes at him during the aforementioned meals. John is portrayed as a man with an appetite for women and several times is caught commiserating about the wife he left behind in a nunnery. Yup. Seems I missed something in the previous novels, but despite John's attractiveness his wife has put herself in exile to be far from him and is now Sister Matilda. What's a man to do? He entertains an old girlfriend and of course has no qualms about bedding the married woman who bats her eyelashes. (OK, he does ponder his issues a few times.) Wait.. is this a conspiracy amongst the knights or the priests? The Old Queen Eleanor is on her way.. Her son Prince John does not have a good reputation yet some are talking behind closed doors about supporting him instead of his brother King Richard..Can John find the missing treasure trove pieces before she arrives, and can he find out who is behind all the dead bodies surrounding him?

An interesting medieval mystery, and recommended for those who enjoy slow developing mysteries with interesting twists. Find it at Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble.com, and Crowner Royal will be released on August 06, 2009 in Trade Paperback;
Crowner Royal released on April 06, 2009 in Hardcover in the UK.

Friday Fill-In - A Royal Consort

Friday Fill-In's is Hosted by Janet
And...here we go!

A Little Royal Trivia:

1. When I heard my sister would be Queen I was happy to be rid of the fat guy from my bed.
2. Home in the countryside with my children away from the murderous courts is my best medicine.
3. It's late, but I wish I had tried to save my sister's life.
4. In spite of my family's wishes, Stafford has been my true love always.
5. My eyes have seen too much with my brother and sister's executions in 1536.
6. My granddaughter aggravated my niece most strongly.
7. And as for the weekend, tonight I'm looking forward to seeing my daughter at the court of Queen Anne of Cleves, tomorrow my plans include walking in the gardens with Henry and Catherine and Sunday, I want to to look forward to the day when my niece would rule!

Who is the narrator here?

Jul 2, 2009

Booking Through Thursday - Celebrity Memoirs

Booking Through Thursday is hosted by Deb; Deb says:

Suggested by Callista83:

Do you read celebrity memoirs? Which ones have you read or do you want to read? Which nonexistent celebrity memoirs would you like to see?


I am wondering if I haven't read more Celebrity biographies. What comes to mind are:

'A life on the Road' By Charles Kuralt. I read in 1990 and enjoyed that a lot.

I read a bio on Barbara Stanwyck back when I was still catching a bus to school, so I could not have been more then 10 or 11. I also remember reading an Elvis Presley Biography.
{Edited to Add: I forgot, I had also read Paul Reiser's book "Couplehood" way back then also. Is that a memoir? That was a funny look at his view on relationships, so perhaps not a memoir}

The rest of the Bio's that I have read do not fall into the Celebrity category. They are more like Elizabeth I, Henry VIII, Elizabeth Woodville, Anne Boleyn, Bess of Hardwick, Arbella Stuart...

If I had to choose a celebrity bio to read, I would choose someone Presidential or their wives. I have no desire to read anything on any cinema-related Celebrities of our current times but I may be tempted to pick something up on someone like Cary Grant or Clark Gable.

What about you?

Jul 1, 2009

Waiting on Wednesday - The Fighting Tudors




Sponsored by "Breaking the Spine". This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

THE FIGHTING TUDORS by David Loades
Product details:
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: The National Archives (31 Aug 2009)
Language English
ISBN-10: 1905615523
ISBN-13: 978-1905615520

No Product description on Amazon. David's website says "Military Imagery and Reality"

Hmmmm. Let me know if you know anything else about this one.

EDIT TO ADD: Thanks so much to DamnedConjurer!! (LOVING that name) Took the guess work away, and we now have a Product Description:

"A fascinating portrait which vividly brings to life the people behind the battles - monarchs, statesmen, courtiers and seadogs - and the ships, weapons and tactics which determined whether they lived or died. When Henry VII seized the throne after the Battle of Bosworth, his crown was far from secure. Yet for more than a hundred years his descendents ruled in England, surviving religious turmoil, rebellion, foreign armadas, diplomatic crises and losses overseas. Some of them went reluctantly to war whilst others embraced its potential, yet all relied upon military success for their own reflected power and prestige.

The Fighting Tudors explores this extraordinary dynasty's strategies for survival, and shows how military action to defend the throne became a sophisticated propoganda tool. It traces the great battles of the Tudor reigns, from campaigns in France and Scotland to the crises of the Armada, and reveals their public and private impact upon individual monarchs - Henry VII, the 'sea king' who pledged to bring peace to his ravaged country; Henry VIII who loved traditional jousting yet commissioned cutting-edge ships for his standing navy; Mary, whose loss of Calais compounded the disappointments of her reign; and Elizabeth, whose dramatic speech at Tilbury became a defining moment of her reign.

Ambitious courtiers and military commanders mingle with volatile monarchs and great seafarers - Drake, Hawkins, Raleigh and Frobisher - who through exploration, plunder and courageous defence finally brought England dominance on the seas."

Jun 30, 2009

The Everything Austen Challenge

A new challege is being hosted at The Written Word:

The Everything Austen Challenge will run for six months (July 1, 2009 – January 1, 2010)! All you need to do is pick out what six Austen-themed things you want to finish to complete the challenge.

You have seen other posts on this, the sign up requires a link back to an original post choosing the items that we are using to participate in the challenge.

This is just in time for my recent acquisitions from Arleigh :) See my mailbox post!

I will be reading:
1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (ARC)
2. Darcy and Anne by Judith Brocklehurst (ARC)
3. The Other Mr. Darcy by Monica Fairview
4. Mr. Knightley's Diary (2006) by Amanda Grange
5. The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, by Syrie James
6. An Assembly Such as This (Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman: Bk 1) by Pamela Aidan (2006)

And I am putting in a Backup Selection to replace any of the above:
A Jane Austen MOVIE



I still have a few others on my shelf Austen related.. once I get my ARC's read I will have to get a section for all the Austen's together.

Teaser Tuesday - Guess the King in question?

TEASER TUESDAYS is hosted by ShouldBeReading and asks you to:
♠Grab your current read.
♠Let the book fall open to a random page.
♠Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page.
♠You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
Please avoid spoilers!

Page 30 of Crowner Royal, by Bernard Knight

'This is a strange place, de Wolfe,' he began, pushing back on the edge of the table with his hands. 'A royal court without a king! Since his coronation in eighty-nine, I doubt he's spent more than a few months in England - and for most of that, he was marching around the coutnry, rather than settled in Westminster.'

Can you Guess the King they are referring to?

Hint = Coeur

Jun 29, 2009

Book Review: "Anne Frank Remembered: The Story of the Woman Who Helped to Hide the Frank Family" by Miep Gies



Book Review: "Anne Frank Remembered: The Story of the Woman Who Helped to Hide the Frank Family" by Miep Gies
Published June 1st 2009 by Pocket Books, an imprint of Simon and Schuster
Paperback, 320 pages
isbn 1847398227 (isbn13: 9781847398222)
The Burton Review Rating: 4.5 stars

The Blurb: "For the millions moved by Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl, here is Miep Gies's own astonishing story. For more than two years, Miep and her husband helped hide the Franks from the Nazis. Like thousands of unsung heroes of the Holocaust, they risked their lives every day to bring food, news, and emotional support to its victims. From her remarkable childhood as a World War I refugee to the moment she places a small, red-orange-checkered diary -- Anne's legacy -- into Otto Frank's hands, Miep Gies remembers her days with simple honesty and shattering clarity. Each page rings with courage and heartbreaking beauty."


I can't think of anyone who has not heard of Anne Frank or her diary that depicts the tragic story of the little girl who did not survive the holocaust. This is not another Anne Frank's Diary story, this is a memoir of a woman who met Anne Frank and her family during the horrors of Hitler's reign in Germany. This is the same woman who actually rescued the pages of the diary before it was trampled by the Germans when they were taken from their hiding place.

The woman who is nicknamed Miep briefly touches on her childhood of being adopted by a Dutch family out of her Austrian home due to malnourishment, though not a direct fault of her biological family. Miep writes of her growing up in the Dutch school and then when she later works in an office for Otto Frank. Otto Frank is the father of Margot and Anne Frank, and in 1940 the girls were 14 and 10 years old when Miep had already socialized with them for a few years. At this point, Hitler was Fuhrer of Germany for 6 years and his Nazi ways were beginning to strike more serious fears with onlookers. Miep mentions when England and France had declared war on Germany; while not deeply affected politically yet by these events, Miep explains how she had not hated another person as much as she had begun to hate Hitler then.

Miep details her personal life in this memoir, from her social life to advancing career in the growing office under Otto Frank and she writes in a casual tone of how she had reacted to the things going on around her. She realizes that the trouble in Germany has hit closer to home when her Austrian passport gets changed to a German passport complete with a Swastika stamp. Suddenly events turn for the worse with the increasing raids on the Jewish people, who had once found solace in the Netherlands, were now being pulled out of their homes and the streets and taken to Hitler's 'labor' camps. For years the war raged on, with the Jewish sympathisers being persecuted and tortured for information on the resistance. I was astonished and horrified as the story went on as to the treatment of all of the Dutch civilians.

For several years Miep helped to hide the Frank family in the upper floors of the office building of the company that Miep had worked at for Otto Frank. She then became a source of food, friendship, news and entertainment as two families and an eighth man were hidden in the cramped quarters. The scrounging for food became a daily struggle for Miep to procure for herself and those she helped to hide, but she did it without complaining. The details of the war via the information waves were slow to come and sometimes inaccurate but still there was little hope. Finally they hear of the Allies, that the British were coming, that America had joined the war and there was at last a glimmer of hope that perhaps Hitler would be stopped. But it did not impact the horrific way of living that the people had to survive, and my heart broke for them as Miep details simply the hardships she and her friends endured.

Otto Frank seems like a father figure to Miep and her husband, who was very calm, patient and exact with all things that occurred around him. I could feel the admiration Miep held for Otto. But Anne, how she affected Miep with her big saucer like round eyes, and how she probably haunted Miep every time she closed her own eyes. The bond the two had shared was palpable and heartbreaking; despite the age differences, Anne and Miep were close and had respect for each other, their choices of friends were limited due to their situation. Miep speaks of the little characteristics of Anne that continue to make her a real person to us today, and modestly yet powerfully she tells this story of how Miep survived the war, but others did not.

I learned about the ordeals the Dutch endured during the German Occupation, and I enjoyed looking at the pictures that were included of Miep, her friends and family, and Anne and the Frank family. I devoured this book even when my heart was breaking for Anne's family and yet I still wanted to know more of the compelling story. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in how one woman and her husband helped bring solace to many while risking their own lives to do so. Miep Gies was a wonderfully passionate woman, someone we can only hope to have on our side when sides needs to be chosen.

Miep Gies writes the afterword in this newly reissued edition, as she reaches her 100th birthday, where she also dispels some of the facts that had misconstrued previously through Anne Frank's Diary. She writes with conviction and authority, and anyone who wants to learn more about the personal ordeals of the Holocaust, and Anne Frank, this is an absolute must read. She has toured the world telling the story, although at times it seems she would rather not. She realizes that this is a story that needs to be told, over and over, lest we forget the personal horrors of one dictator.

I took Miep's advice and I have ordered "The Diary of a Young Girl: The Definitive Edition" by Anne Frank. Although extremely sad, the story is still fascinating due to the nature of Anne Frank's personality, and the wonder of what was lost. Through Anne's diary, millions have felt her words and her story that should never be forgotten. And again, Miep has done the world a service by offering us her personal experiences with Anne, who is seen as one face of many who perished during the Holocaust.

Miep's official Website http://www.miepgies.nl/en/149.html

Mailbox Monday - From Medieval to Many Austen Sequels!!!

BurtonReviewMailbox
Mailbox Monday is hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page. We share what books that we found in our mailboxes last week. And I am adding what I purchased. Here's what I received during the last week:

Happy Monday to everyone!
I got some fun books this week, especially due to Arleigh at Historical-Fiction.com .. Thanks for sharing these with me:


Now Face to Face by Karleen Koen, part of a trilogy which someday I'll remember which one to read first without having to ask Arleigh for the umpteenth time "The beloved heroine from Koen's bestselling Through a Glass Darkly returns in a passionate, unforgettable, romantic tapestry. A widow at age 20, emotionally devastated and financially ruined by the death of her husband in scandalous circumstances, Barbara Devane leaves colonial Virginia for London to confront her enemies and to pursue a deeply satisfying yet dangerous clandestine love."

Mansfield Park Revisited: A Jane Austen Entertainment by Joan Aiken (2008)"In Aiken's sequel to Jane Austen's complex and fascinating novel, after heroine Fanny Price marries Edmund Bertram, they depart for the Caribbean, and Fanny's younger sister Susan moves to Mansfield Park as Lady Bertram's new companion. Surrounded by the familiar cast of characters from Jane Austen's original, and joined by a few charming new characters introduced by the author, Susan finds herself entangled in romance, surprise, scandal, and redemption. Aiken's diverting tale gives the reader interesting speculation on how the Crawfords, whose winning personalities were marred by an amoral upbringing, might have turned out, and Jane Austen's morality tale takes new directions with an unexpected and somewhat controversial ending."

Pemberley Shades by D.A. Bonavia-Hunt (2008) "Originally published in 1949, the unusual plot takes the Darcys into the realm of the Gothic. Mr. Darcy must appoint a new rector at Pemberley, which affords the author the opportunity to introduce a host of new characters to mingle with the beloved and familiar ones of Jane Austen.A delightfully witty plot, full of surprises:"Who could have foretold that Dr. Robinson, who had done nothing of note in all his lifetime should, by the common and natural act of dying, set in motion a train of events so strange, so startling, so far removed from probability as to emulate the riotous fancies of a disordered mind?" "The kind of story Jane Austen would have delighted to tell."-J. Donald Adams"

Mr. Knightley's Diary (2006) by Amanda Grange "Relive Jane Austen's Emma- from Mr. Knightley's point of view. Between managing his estate and visiting his brother in London, Mr. Knightley is both exasperated and amused by his irresistibly beautiful, outrageously mischievous neighbor, Emma Woodhouse, whose misguided attempts at matchmaking are wreaking havoc in the village of Highbury. But when a handsome newcomer arrives and catches Emma's attention, Mr. Knightley is shocked by his reaction. Amusement gives way to another emotion entirely-for his unreasonable dislike of the handsome newcomer seems suspiciously like jealousy."

The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen, a Novel by Syrie James (2008) "Many rumors abound about a mysterious gentleman said to be the love of Jane's lifefinally, the truth may have been found. . . What if, hidden in an old attic chest, Jane Austen's memoirs were discovered after hundreds of years? What if those pages revealed the untold story of a life-changing love affair? That's the premise behind this spellbinding novel, which delves into the secrets of Jane Austen's life, giving us untold insights into her mind and heart. Jane Austen has given up her writing when, on a fateful trip to Lyme, she meets the well-read and charming Mr. Ashford, a man who is her equal in intellect and temperament. Inspired by the people and places around her, and encouraged by his faith in her, Jane begins revising Sense and Sensibility, a book she began years earlier, hoping to be published at last. Deft and witty, written in a style that echoes Austen's own, this unforgettable novel offers a delightfully possible scenario for the inspiration behind this beloved author's romantic tales. It's a remarkable book, irresistible to anyone who loves Jane Austen and to anyone who loves a great story."


From Paperbackswap I received:
An Assembly Such as This (Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman: Bk 1) by Pamela Aidan (2006)

"She is tolerable; but not handsome enough to tempt me." "So begins the timeless romance of Fitzwilliam Darcy and Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice. Jane Austen's classic novel is beloved by millions, but little is revealed in the book about the mysterious and handsome hero, Mr. Darcy. And so the question has long remained: Who is Fitzwilliam Darcy? In An Assembly Such as This, Pamela Aidan finally answers that long-standing question. In this first book of her Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman trilogy, she reintroduces us to Darcy during his visit to Hertfordshire with his friend Charles Bingley and reveals Darcy's hidden perspective on the events of Pride and Prejudice. As Darcy spends more time at Netherfield supervising Bingley and fending off Miss Bingley's persistent advances, his unwilling attraction to Elizabeth grows -- as does his concern about her relationship with his nemesis, George Wickham. Setting the story vividly against the colorful historical and political background of the Regency, Aidan writes in a style comfortably at home with Austen but with a wit and humor very much her own. Aidan adds her own cast of fascinating characters to those in Austen's original, weaving a rich tapestry from Darcy's past and present. Austen fans and newcomers alike will love this new chapter of the most famous romance of all time."


The Reckoning by Sharon Kay Penman, (1991) from the Welsh Trilogy "Here, alive from the pages of history, is the compelling tale of a Celtic society ruled by Llewelyn, Prince of Wales, on a collison course with a feudal realm of Edward I. With this last book in the extraordinary trilogy that began with HERE BE DRAGONS and continued in FALLS THE SHADOW, Sharon Kay Penman has written a beautiful and moving conclusion to her medieval saga. For everyone who has read the earlier books in this incomparable series or ever wanted to experience the rich tapestry of British history and lore, this bold and romantic adventure must be read."

For Review, I received J.W. Nicklaus' collection of short stories "The Light The Dark and Ember Between" (Thank you to the author for sending this):
"The ever fluctuating state of the human condition and our life-long flirtation with Hope. A spectrum of short stories revolving around the very core of what most deeply affects us Love. From the wispy fog of a love lost at sea, to love lost and rediscovered, and the consequences of questionable choices made, each story provides a small glimpse into a commonly faceted emotion. Early reviews have called this collection elegiac and thoughtful, subtly witty, gently tragic, and declaring the stories as masterfully imbued with poignant insight, and a smooth, silky narration."