Mini Reviews of Summer 2016

Mystery, drama, oh my!

Newest novel by Lynn Austin

Book three in the Restoration Chronicles!

Welcome to Burton Book Review!

Historical fiction and Biblical fiction, reviewing since 2008

My epiphany of 2015

Please don't contact me for a review request, I am not accepting any review books.

Best of 2015

BBR's Top 2015 Reads!

Aug 4, 2017

Summer 2017


Now that 2017 is halfway over I decided that I wanted to create a blog post to freak everyone out (all two of you!). I specifically wanted to point out how things change when you least expect it to. My last post indicated that I was going to remain on my "compound" as we called our home and ignore the rest of the world. That didn't happen.

We decided in February to get a realtor and sell the compound while the market was trending upwards in our area. Of course that meant a lot of packing, trashing, repainting, squabbles, mental breakdowns and purging of many books. I THREW BOOKS OUT, Y'ALL .. something I never thought I would do. But who really needs ARC's lying around? No one. Now that we are officially moved and fairly settled into a new home, if I come across more books to unpack I will probably have another bonfire. I have donated many, many, many books to the local family owned bookstore - even after moving and lugging those books to the new house I realized don't really need all those books... and it did hurt -but it was a necessary thing.



I now have a garden that I can play in without fear of poison ivy! And we have real live neighbors that my kids can socialize with, and we're positioned for the best schools in the district. This move has encompassed the last seven to eight months of my life but now I am ready to focus on things that make me happy again.

The move also means a new church, new beginnings for the family and new friends, too. I resist change, so I'm still adapting but I think I am getting to a point where I can take a deep breath and not see yet another big chore that still needs to be done. We are blessed to be where we are and the Lord was at our side all the way -- if you only knew the drama!









So now that it is time to settle down, according to Goodreads I have read five books this year.
That seems CRAZY, doesn't it? But if I start a book, and it bores me-- then I do something else for a long time and then I start a new book. And a huge problem I have is that I had tried reading several library eBooks, but I would run out of time and not be able to finish the book and would have to then put myself on the waitlist again. They really need to lengthen the amount of time you can borrow an eBook. Two weeks is not enough for me anymore. Especially since I do not know what the last actual PHYSICAL book I held and read from that wasn't a Bible!


 Now that I have a neat little reading nook on a balcony, perhaps I will read more get more bug bites!

Books that I really finished:

read from December to February 2017: All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (5 stars) eBook
  
"A blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II." I LOVED THIS BOOK and it has been featured several times all over the interwebs since it was a prize winner so I have nothing new to add except that I cried.

I read in February 2017: A Flicker of Light by Roberta Kagan (3 stars) eBook
Germany WWII, Holocaust.. crossing paths of two young folks and a saga ensues. This was pretty good reading and enjoyable in a bit of an incredulous sort of way, though still a nice surprise. Very well-drawn characters while some of the events were a little off kilter, but good story anyway.

I read in February 2017 to May 2017: While The World Is Still Asleep by Petra Durst-Benning (4 stars) eBook

"A.. historical tale of one woman risking it all for her dreams set in 1890s Berlin" - The story is about bicycling, family, friendship, society and it was a little slow at times. However the characters were so intriguing that I really did not want to leave them. So I am almost done reading the second title in the Century trilogy.


I read from May to June 2017: The Girl Before by J.P. Delaney (4 stars) eBook 
A creepy suspense type of read that I picked up after it being recommended for fans of The Girl On The Train and also The Woman In Cabin 10. It was a different type of read, following the stories of two girls who's paths do not cross but are each residing in the same creepy house. It was good enough for me to finish the library loan in record time.


And I read in June 2017: The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill by Julie Klassen (3.5 stars) eBook
"The financial future of the English village of Ivy Hill rests largely upon the success of The Bell, the coaching inn formerly run by innkeeper John Bell, but now by his widow, the reluctant and inexperienced Jane. When she discovers a large loan is imminently due, Jane turns to her resentful mother-in-law, Thora, the former mistress of The Bell who knows the business. Together they must face and overcome old hurts while assessing new methods to turn the business around." Not my favorite of the author's but considering the house stress I was going through I understand why this one was somewhat forgettable. But die hard fans will love it.


And now reading The Champagne Queen.. very good part two in The Century trilogy; follows one of the girls from the previous novel mentioned above. I am at 90% of this one right now and will probably ready book three next: The Queen of Beauty


Comments have long ago been disabled. Feel free to comment at the facebook page!



Jan 3, 2017

Hello, 2017!


2016 in General.

2016 was full of ups and downs and I am definitely happy to say goodbye to 2016 and hello to 2017. I have no aspirations, no resolutions, no pressure on myself except to live my life how I want to, take care of my family and ignore everyone else. Topping off 2016 was the political atmosphere on facebook among my 'friends' - which was ugly and disappointing to witness. I realized so many things about the world we live in and how warped it is. I unfriended many, unfollowed others, and decided I like my life on what we affectionately call The Burton Compound and I will focus on our introverted life and that is it. To hell with everything else.


Favorite books of 2016

my top rated
According to Goodreads, I read thirty books during 2016. Here is a screenshot of my top rated titles.
I really enjoyed reading several of Billy Coffey's titles this year. I would like to read more from Kate Morton, and more from favorites Susanna Kearsley, Philippa Carr and Elizabeth Chadwick. I did read two very very very long Games of Thrones books, and don't think I'll have the urge to continue the series (except for the television series of course).

Things that happened on the blog.

I deleted many of my older reviews due to author's political rants or general unfriendliness in social media that I came across. I have no desire to pretend I support any author in any way shape or form, and I definitely do not want my site to ever be associated through a google search to an author I find to be rude and unworthy of my measly reviews of years gone by.


 Things that did not happen on the blog.

While I still read thirty books in 2016, most reviews never made it from my brain to this site. I think I enjoyed blogging once because there were not fifteen million blogs out there and we had a niche of bloggers we were interested in. When the book touring things got out of hand and every blog started promoting the same book it all just became pointless. Rage against the machine!✖✖

When I created this site in 2008/2009, I had more spare time before my children got older and life has simply evolved to where I shifted priorities. I do still catalog and rate on goodreads any reading progress made. As I have no desire to be a writer or author (especially since anyone can do it these days), I no longer feel the pressure or the desire to write reviews, and I no longer feel like I need the comments to keep my site active so I also turned off commenting on my blog.

2017 Predictions

I may or may not create a review in 2017, and I could care less if I did. It's not like anyone cares anymore. ☺☺☺So we will just play it by ear and see what spare time I have. These days I still work full time, I volunteer my time at church and I am member of two separate local councils. Time outside of those things will consist of hanging out with the family, cleaning cat boxes and praying that everyone remains happy and healthy.

I have no idea what will happen in 2017, but I hope it is a great year for everyone. I hope that we all get to enjoy life and step away from the electronic devices (unless you're reading an eBook!)